Een processie door de straten van Brugge

Date and time

The Procession of the Holy Blood takes place on Ascension Day every year. In 2020 this will be on Thursday 21th May and in 2021 this will be Thursday 13th May.

The procession will start in the Dijver at 2.30 pm. The passage of the procession will take about an hour and a half at any point along the route. Depending on the route location, the procession could pass by a little earlier or later. The procession will end at 5.30 pm.

Communication image: the prophets

Throughout the history, people arise who want to remind us of our most fundamental mission in life: to be open to the life-giving force of God, to be the creator of peace by living according to God’s will. We call them prophets.

Download the poster and participate with the promotion!
Download the poster

Download the brochure and check out the handy city plan!
Download the brochure

Follow the preparations step by step via Facebook.


You can take place anywhere you like along the route. You do not need to buy a ticket and can simply choose your own preferred place. Watching the procession pass by is free.

Would you like to watch the procession pass by from a bench or the stands? Then you will need to purchase a ticket.

You can order your tickets online in advance. You also can reach Tourist Info t Zand (Concertgebouw, open from Monday-Saturday: 10 a.m.-5 p.m., Sunday and public holidays: 10 a.m.-2 p.m.), Tourist Info Markt (Historium, open form Monday-Sundag: 10 a.m.-5 p.m.) of call +32(0)70 22 12 12.

Reserved/numbered seats
€ 12,00 p/p
€ 4,00 p/p
Groups (20+ people)
€ 10,75 p/p
€ 3,50 p/p
The tickets are delivered by e-mail as an e-ticket. You can print them and take them on paper, or show them digitally on your smartphone. Do you want to receive the tickets at home? Then you pay shipping costs.

Buy your tickets online


The Procession of the Holy Blood follows this route in 2019: Dijver – Gruuthusestraat – Guido Gezelleplein – Mariastraat – Simon Stevinplein – Steenstraat – Zuidzandstraat – ’t Zand – Hauwerstraat – Maagdenstraat – Smedenstraat – ’t Zand – Noordzandstraat – Geldmuntstraat – Markt – Wollestraat – Oude Burg.
The plan also highlights the seats (green) and stands (yellow).